About ISP

Logo ISPDate of Foundation:

Originally Oct. 1974;

Refounded: Oct.1997


The Iranian Philosophical Society was originally founded in Oct. 1974 by Prof. Seyyed Hossein Nasr. In 1990 two research Institutes each with three departments (Western philosophy, Islamic Philosophy, Sufism and Religions; History and Philosophy of Science; Religious Theology of Abrahamic and non-Abrahamic Religions; Traditional and Modern Logic) were created and annexed thereto. In October 1997, the Iranian Philosophical Society was refounded as a NGO. In 2002 the two research institutes were incorporated into the Iranian Institute of Philosophy (IRIP).

The Iranian Philosophical Society with its affiliated intellectual offshoots has been quite instrumental in propagating the philosophical culture in Iran, a country which has been well-known for its great philosophical heritage.


No 2, Nejatollahi st. (Vila), Varsho st., Tehran, Iran

P.O.BOX:  6487-14155   -  Tel: 009821-22711370